Kenyan MPs turn tourists, chase twilight girls in Geneva

Kenyan MPs turn tourists, chase twilight girls in Geneva


The greed for money at the expense of service delivery that has been the characteristic of Kenyan MPs and politicians played out recently when a team of Kenyan MPs and senators who had flown to Geneva skipped the meeting and instead were spotted in social joints while others went for a shopping spree instead of participating in the conference.

According to a Kenyan delegate in Geneva, the legislators were seen in the streets of Geneva busy shopping while the sessions were going on and in the evenings, they visited club to club eyeing twilight girls.

The Central Organisation of Trade Unions secretary general Francis Atwoli who was in Geneva for the ILO conference was upset with the manner in which money hungry Kenyan MPs and senators pocketed huge amounts of taxpayers’ money to attend the conference but failed to even step in the meeting room.

Atwoli is now demanding that that National Treasury cabinet secretary Henry Rotich deducts whatever travelling allowances the MPs and senators might have received. His allegations came on the heels of claims that each member attending the conference got a return ticket of Sh300,000 for business class and Sh100,000 for meals, night outs and sitting allowance.

“Cotu (K) equally considers this to be worst ever behaviour that a public officer can exhibit when he is paid by Kenya’s poor taxpayers’ money and this must be stopped,” said Atwoli.

In a statement, Atwoli claimed that members of the senate and national assembly labour committees failed to attend the ongoing ILO Congress despite having been paid generous allowances and air tickets. David Were, the chairperson of the committee was the only face seen at the hall. The Kenyan delegation was attending the ILO committee meetings on application of standards, plenary sitting of the conference and committee on labour migration.

The members of the committee  apart from Were include his deputy Tiya Galgalo and members Janet Teiya, Ferdinard Waititu, Peris Tobiko, John Ndirangu, Winnie Karimi, Janet Nangabo, John Serut, Samuel Gichigi, Elijah Langata, Cornelly Serem, Abdi Noor Ali, David Wanyama, Regina Nyeris, Wesley Korir, Kinoti Gatobu, Elijah Musomi, Onyango K’oyoo, Omondi Ogutu, Aisha Jumwa, Patrick Wangamati, Rose Museu , Silvance Onyango Osele, Gladys Wanga, John Owuor Kobado, Mwanyoha Hassann, Jones Mwagogo, Irshad Sumra. However, not all of them were in Geneva but only a selected few.

About author